Fhem for non-German speakers ?

Begonnen von stefaanv, 22 Dezember 2013, 18:37:27

Vorheriges Thema - Nächstes Thema

stefaanv

Hi,

I'm new to Fhem but got very interested after reading the introduction on the main website.
My German, however, is very bad.  Is it possible for non-German speakers to get Fhem up-and-running ?  Does anyone have experience ?
I found a 76 pages "Getting started guide" (in German) on the website, does something similar exist in English ?
Can anyone point me to good English (or Dutch) documentation ?

Stefaan

fruit

I'm English and have no German at all (much too old for that now) and running fhem for a couple of months, so it's certainly possible.
I started with the same German guide you mention I think, translating a section at a time into English using google. It's good enough to make sense of.
Have you checked the main fhem page? It links to HowTos and other pages in English. commandref is also available in English as are a few of the wiki pages. For the rest and the forum I copy into google translate.

Posts here are sometimes moved to more appropriate places and generally answered in English
Feel free to follow up in German if you prefer

oliv06

Same for me. I have been using FHEM for a year and I do not speak german at all. I use google to translate when necessary but that's not very efficient.

I have written a few posts on my blog (in french! http://play.with.free.fr/index.php/tag/fhem/ ) so anybody speaking french will find information. I try to keep it updated with new tips I find in order to remind them, because it is possible to loose a lot of time with fhem and perl syntax...

If anybody else is interested, it would be fine to translate part of the wiki and  the  "Getting started guide" in english.

UliM

Hi all,
the beginners guide doesn't exist in english yet.  Two months ago I sent the original doc to someone in Southafrica who wanted to translate it, but haven't had any more news.