MAX Radiator Valves

Begonnen von Lawrence, 28 Januar 2013, 00:06:16

Vorheriges Thema - Nächstes Thema

Lawrence

Hi,

I hope someone can help as I am afraid Google's translations are leaving me a little confused.

I was hoping to be able to get regular updates (e.g. every 5-10 minutes) of the current temperature from the MAX thermostats, but a quick read of the logs tells me this isn't the case. I get updates between every couple of minutes to every couple of hours.

I am running the latest FHEM (5.3 development version updated today) on a Raspberry Pi connecting to MAX! radiator thermostats via a CUL (v3) with CULFW (v1.52). Oh yes, I am also very new to FHEM.

The FHEM MAX Wiki (http://www.fhemwiki.de/wiki/MAX) claims the measured temperature can be read but has the following note after it: 'If not using the MAX CUBE regularly updated.' (Google translated and not very clear to me ;-) ).

Is it possible using the MAX radiator thermostats to get regular readings of the current temperature via CUL? If not, would it be possible from the MAX wall thermostats? Or using the MAX CUBE instead of CUL? Or would I have to use a separate thermostat to achieve this?

Thanks in advance for any help and thanks for such a great bit of free software.

Matthias Gehre

Hi,

the firmware in the MAX! thermostats only sends the current temperature if either the desiredTemperature is changed (by the user or FHEM)
or the valveposition is changed (by the controller inside the firmware).
It may be possible to force the thermostats to send the current temperature by sending some special packets to them, but none of this is currently
known.

As this is a problem of the thermostat firmware, it does not depend on whether you use the CUL_MAX or MAXLAN backend.

Lawrence

Thanks for the reply Matthias, I suspected that was the case.